Prep Track and Field: The Boys and Girls State Qualifiers for Class 1A

State Track and Field- The state qualifying meets are in the books and the tentative list of qualifiers has been released for the upcoming 2024 Iowa High School State Track and Field Championships. Here’s a look at our local qualifiers.

Boys Class 1A

Winfield-Mt. Union

The Wolves have seven total qualifiers as Kohlby Newsom has the second fastest seed time in the 800-meter run with a time of 1 minute and 58 seconds. Gabriel Hemsworth qualified in the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 55.48 seconds, the fourth fastest time of the qualifiers.

Winfield-Mt. Union will also have a 4×100 meter relay team compete with Cole Milks, Kael Johnson, Eli Miller, and Brenden Simmons acting as the main four and Abram Edwards, Lane Genkinger, and Cam Buffington will be the reserves.

Hemsworth, Sheaden Adams, Edwards, and Buffington will run the 4×200 meter relay as Ty Scorpil, Miller, and Genkinger will act as reserves. Adams, Scorpil, and Hemsworth with team up with Newsom for the 4×400 meter relay as Jaxton Jones and Genkinger will be the reserves.

The same team will also compete in the distance medley as they tout the fastest time of the heat. Lastly, Edwards, Simmons, Adams, and Scorpil will compete in the 800-sprint medley relay.


With five qualifiers, Hayden Shelman, Isaac Rich, Gage Samo, and Clayton Miller will sprint in the 4×100 meter relay as Louden Huisenga, Trey Edeker, Sam Meyer, and Octavio Velasco will be the reserves. Huisenga will participate in the high jump, entering with the height of 6 feet.

Clayton Miller will also be leaping in the long jump, entering with a distance of 20 feet and 2 inches. In the last field event for the Warriors, Chase Waterhouse will throw the discus as he enters with a seed mark of 147 feet, the seventh best mark of the field.

Lastly, Huisenga, Samo, Casey Coakley, and Miller will participate in the 4×110 meter shuttle hurdle relay.


The Bears will have three relays and six individuals competing next week with Ayden Doyle running in the 100-meter dash. His time of 11.18 seconds ranks him fifth in the heat. Doyle will also compete in the 200-meter dash.

The Bears will see Noah Horn and Jackson Shacklett run in the 800-meter run. Shacklett and Carter Fesler will then prepare for the distance event with the 15th and 16th best times, respectively, in the 1600-meter run.

Jaden Bauer, Kessler Whaley, Landon Seibert, and Doyle will run team up for the 4×100 meter relay and 800 sprint medley relay, as they rank top seven in both events. The team of Shacklett, Nick Powell, Fesler, and Horn will run in the 4×800 meter relay.

New London

The Tigers will have Brigham Porter run the 100-meter dash and London Franklin compete in the long jump as he has the 10th best mark entering the meet.


The Wildcats will be busy during the three-day event with 11 qualifiers. Kaiden Amigon enters the 100-meter dash with the seventh fastest time of 11.3 seconds. Riley Kaalberg will also compete in the 100-meter dash.

Amigon will also sprint in the 200-meter dash, while Alexander Rees and Lamar Ceant will participate in the 110-meter hurdles. The 4×100 meter relay team of Juan Chariez, Kaalberg, Ceant, and Amigon enters with the 8th fastest time.

Amigon’s fourth event will be the long jump as his mark currently sits just seven inches from the top mark at 21 feet and 5 inches. Continuing in the field events, Russell Coil will throw the discus and shot put.

The Wildcats will participate in two more relays with Johnathan Miranda, Kaalber, Rees, and Ceant competing in the 4×110 meter shuttle hurdle and the team of Kaalberg, Rees, Chairez, and Damian Vergara will run in the 800-sprint medley.

Hillcrest Academy

Owen Scott will be the lone Raven as he will compete in the high jump and the long jump.

Girls Class 1A

Winfield-Mt. Union

Aurey Meeker will run the 100-meter dash. Josie Nelson will participate in the 100-meter hurdles. In the field events, Quin Smith will leap in the high jump.

The Wolves will also have two relays as the team of Tessa Huston, Suttyn Schlee, Meeker, and Nelson will run and jump in the 4×100 meter shuttle hurdle relay and Smith will sub in for Schlee to run in the 4×200 meter relay.


The Warriors will have Ally Rinner, Brenna Graber, Madelyn Farmer, and Zoey Dennler compete in the 4×100 meter shuttle hurdle relay.


The Bears will be prominent in the relays with four teams competing. Kenna Furnald, Miya Orbiana, Macie Wagner, and Jaeda Molle running the 4×200 meter relay. Alaina Gourely and Delaney Newberry will jump in with Orbiana and Molle for the 4×400 meter relay.

Furnald, Molle, Gourley, and Violette Sowell will participate in the 800-sprint medley and the team of Furnald, Molle, Orbiana, and Gourley will compete in the distance medley.

Furnald also enters as the favorite in the long jump with a mark of 17 feet and 1.5 inches. Lastly, Gourley will compete in the 800-meter run.


Highland will have one relay perform as Alexa Hahn, Hailey, Brun, Lilly Barre, and Grace Prybil will run the 4×100 meter relay.

Hillcrest Academy

Rya Scott will be busy, competing in the 100, 200, and 400-meter dashes along with the long jump. Marie Yoder will pace herself in the 3,000 meter run.

For a full list of qualifiers follow the links below:

Boys: Boys Qualifiers

Girls: Girls Qualifiers

The State Track Meet will begin on Thursday, May 16th, and run through Saturday, May 18th, with KILJ bringing live results throughout the competition.