Sports, Monday, April 5th

By: Nathan Bloechl — 

Boys’ Soccer: Panthers Host Columbus:

The Mount Pleasant boys’ soccer team will open their 2021 season tonight when the Panthers host Columbus in a nonconference fixture at East Lake Park.

The Panthers are coming off back to back 13-6 marks and will look to return to that form following the COVID cancelled spring of 2020.

The Panthers return senior goalkeeper Logan Lee, who will help fortify the back line.

Lee was the leading keeper in the 2019 season, recording 83 saves.

Mount Pleasant will need to fill the boots of Nathan Rauenbuehler, who was dynamite in his senior year.

In fact, the Panthers will need to replace their top six scorers from two years prior.

Match time is set for 6:00 p.m. tonight at East Lake Park.

This will be Columbus’ first match of the season as well, they finished the 2019 season 5-9.

College Football: Wesleyan Drops Season Opener:

The Iowa Wesleyan football team allowed a late 61-yard touchdown run to Paul Garrett as Greenville University came from behind for a 28-25 win over the Tigers Saturday at Francis Field in Greenville, Illinois.

Iowa Wesleyan freshman quarterback Gavin Esquivel threw for 434 yards in his debut including three touchdowns.

Shomari Wilson had 117 yards receiving, while Jerry Carbajal and Braedin Ross finished with 79 and 76 yards receiving respectively.

Greenville took the lead for good at the 8:41 mark of the fourth quarter on the Garrett touchdown rush — which came on fourth and short.

It was the final of three touchdowns on the ground for Garrett.

He rushed for 222 yards on 26 totes and added three catches for 10 yards.

The loss moved Wesleyan to 0-1.

They’ll lick their wounds, watch the tape, and make the corrections prior to a Saturday date with Westminster.

That game will be played at Bracewell Stadium in Burlington.

Kick is set for 1:00 p.m.

You can listen on FM 105.5.

Women’s College Basketball: Iowa State’s Joens Wins Cheryl Miller Award:

Iowa State women’s basketball star Ashley Joens has been named the Cheryl Miller Award recipient for the past season.

The award is presented annually to the best small forward in Division I.

Joens, an Iowa City native, averaged a school-record 24.2 points per game for Iowa State this year.

She’s the second Iowa State player to win the award.

Bridget Carleton won in 2019.

Men’s College Basketball: Iowa’s Garza Wins Naismith Trophy:

University of Iowa senior Luka Garza has been named the recipient of the 2021 Naismith Trophy, the most prestigious individual basketball honor presented annually to college basketball’s most outstanding player.

The most dominant player in men’s college basketball, Garza has been named national player of the year by all of the major organizations and publications, including the Associated Press, National Association of Basketball Coaches, United States Basketball Writers Association (Oscar Robertson Trophy), Sporting News, Basketball Times, and The Athletic.

Iowa’s first two-time unanimous consensus first-team All-American is also a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, which will be announced on Tuesday.

The two-time Big Ten Player of the Year broke Iowa’s 32-year old scoring record held by Roy Marble in February.

He finished his Hawkeye career with 2,306 points, which ranks seventh-best in Big Ten history.

Men’s College Basketball: Iowa State Adds Denver Transfer:

The Iowa State men’s basketball team has picked up former Denver University star Robert Jones, the school has announced.

Jones averaged nearly 10 points and five rebounds per game for Denver, reaching double figures five times in the truncated season.

The 6-foot-10 sophomore will have three years of eligibility in Ames.

Jones was a three-star prospect hailing from Prior Lake, Minnesota.