Sports, November 25th

High School Basketball

The Mt. Pleasant girls’ will stay on the road to take on Ottumwa on November 27th at 7:30 pm. 

The Mt. Pleasant boys’ will host Cedar Rapids Washington on November 27th at 7:30 pm to begin their season. KILJ 105.5 FM,, will have the call with the pregame show at 7:15 pm. 

The Danville girls’ team will travel to take on Burlington on November 27th at 7:30 pm. 

The Danville boys’ will face off against Holy Trinity Catholic on November 28th at 7:30 pm to begin their season. 

Mediapolis will host Central Lee on November 28th with the girls’ game starting at 6 pm and the boys’ game to follow. 

The New London girls’ and boys’ will compete against Van Buren County on November 28th with the first game starting at 6 pm. 

The Winfield-Mt. Union girls’ team will take on Louisa-Muscatine on Tuesday, November 28th, on the road at 6 pm with the boys’ game scheduled to start at 7:30 pm. 

Holy Trinity Catholic will take on WACO on November 27th in a road matchup with the girls’ starting at 6 pm and the boys’ to follow. 

The Van Buren County girls’ team will host Cardinal on November 27th at 6 pm to begin their season. 

High School Wrestling

The Columbus/Winfield-Mt. Union and WACO girls’ teams will compete in an Invitational on November 27th at Fort Madison. 

The Columbus/Winfield-Mt. Union boys’ team will host a triangular on November 28th with Mt. Pleasant also competing. 

The Mt. Pleasant girls’ team’s next meet will be December 2nd at a tournament hosted by Wapello. 

The New London girls’ team will compete in a scramble on November 30th. 

The New London boys’ team will host a tournament on December 2nd. 

High School Bowling

Mt. Pleasant will travel to West Burlington to compete against the Falcons on November 28th. 

College Football

Iowa State University will end the regular season tonight against Kansas State in a road matchup at 7 pm. 

#17 Iowa and Nebraska supplied all of the entertainment needed in the last minute of the game as the Hawkeyes and Cornhuskers traded interceptions, leading to a Marshall Meeder 38 yard field goal for the walkoff 13-10 victory. Leshon Williams gained 111 yards on the ground and had a key run on the final drive to set up the game winning kick. The Hawkeyes will compete for the Big Ten Championship on December 2nd at 7:15 pm against either Ohio State or Michigan. 

We will not be broadcasting the Cyclone game due to the Festival of Lights.

College Basketball

The Iowa State men’s team could not make up the ten-point deficit after the first half as the Cyclones suffered their first loss of the season last night 71-62 against Virginia Tech. Milan Momcilovic led the squad with 21 points as he shot 70% from the field. The Cyclones will take on #12 Texas A&M tomorrow, November 26th, at 5:30 pm for third place in the ESPN Events Invitational. 

The Iowa State women’s team loss to Vanderbilt yesterday 68-53 after a four-point second quarter held them back. Audi Crooks downed 14 points in the effort. The Cyclones will face off against Syracuse today at 1 pm. 

The #5 Iowa women’s team scored points in bunches as the Hawkeyes defeated Purdue Fort Wayne 98-59. Caitlin Clark nailed six three-pointers as she finished the night with 29 points, while Sharon Goodman added 16 points. The Hawkeyes will compete against FGCU in the semifinals for the Gulf Coast Showcase tonight at 6:30 pm. 

The Iowa men’s team got back in the win column last night, taking down Seton Hall 85-72. Payton Sandfort cashed in for 22 points and collected nine rebounds in the win. The Hawkeyes will take on North Florida on Wednesday, November 29th, at 8 pm. 

This Day in Sports History

1961 – NBA’s Bob Cousy becomes the second player to score 15,000 points.

1979 – Pat Summerall and John Madden broadcast a game together for the first time. A pairing that lasts 22 years and becomes one of the most well-known partnerships in TV sportscasting history.

2018 – LA Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers sets an NFL single-game record, completing 25-straight passes in a 45-10 win against the Arizona Cardinals.