Sports, November 9th

High School Football

For 8-player, Winfield-Mt. Union jumped out to a quick lead over Bishop Garrigan, but the Golden Bears scored 28 unanswered points to take down the Wolves 34-20. Winfield-Mt. Union was overwhelmed with players playing through injuries and despite the outcome Head Coach Scott McCarty was proud of the effort shown.

Cam Buffington rushed for 36 yards, scored two touchdowns, and racked up 12.5 tackles in an effort that proved his love for the game and his team.

“I didn’t want to quit,” stated an emotional Buffington. “I wanted to be in there with my brothers, so I didn’t want to quit. You know, it hurt, but I couldn’t move, so put me at nose, I didn’t want to quit.”

Jake Edwards threw for 212 yards and a touchdown that was caught by Abram Edwards who tallied 81 yards. The Wolves finished the season with an 11-1 record. 

Gladbrook-Reinbeck was 13 seconds away from advancing to the championship game, but Bedford’s Kase Coleman had other thoughts after nailing the game winning 24-yard field goal to win 31-30. Garrison Motsinger led the way with 134 yards rushing. 

Bishop Garrigan and Bedford will compete for the state championship next Thursday, November 16th, at 9:30 am. 

In Class A, Madrid will take on West Hancock today at 10 am followed by East Buchanan and Woodbury Central.

The Class 1A semifinals will take place tomorrow, November 10th, with Columbus Catholic facing off against Grundy Center at 10 am and MFL MarMac competing against Underwood at 1 pm. 

The Class 2A semifinals will be on Saturday, November 11th, with Monticello taking on Van Meter at 10 am and Spirit Lake clashing with Central Lyon/George-Little Rock at 1 pm.

Class 3A will also play on Saturday with Bishop Heelan taking on Creston at 4 pm and Williamsburg getting a rematch against Solon.

At 4 pm today, North Polk will take on Lewis Central with Bondurant-Farrar and Western Dubuque playing at 7 pm.

Class 5A will round out the day on Friday with Valley taking on Southeast Polk at 4 pm and Ankeny Centennial battling with Ankeny at 7 pm.

High School Basketball

The Mt. Pleasant girls team will host a jamboree on November 13th with four games on the slate with each game given a 45 minute time limit.

Lone Tree and Burlington will start off the night with the first game at 6 pm. Mediapolis and Keokuk will follow at 6:45 pm. Winfield-Mt. Union will take on Fairfield at 7:30 pm. Lastly, Mt. Pleasant and WACO will face off at 8:15 pm.

College Football

Iowa State University will face off against BYU this Saturday, November 11th, at 9:15 pm. This is the first meeting between the two teams since 1974.

Iowa will host Rutgers on Saturday at 11 am. 

For the Hawkeye broadcast, tune in to KILJ 105.5 FM. For the Cyclone broadcast, tune in to KILJ 98.5 FM and AM 1130.

College Basketball

The Iowa State men’s team will face off against Lindenwood tonight at 7 pm. KILJ 98.5 FM and AM 1130 will have the call.

The Iowas State women’s team will take on Drake on November 12th at 2 pm.

The 3rd ranked Iowa women’s team will compete in a top 10 matchup against #8 Virginia Tech tonight at 7 pm.

The Iowa men’s team will take on Alabama State tomorrow, November 10th, at 7 pm.

NCAA Guidelines

The NCAA Division I council coordination committee has changed their guidelines to their gambling policy. If a college athlete wagers on teams at their own school, but not on their own team, they will only face the penalty of one year of loss eligibility instead of a permanent loss of eligibility. 

These new guidelines will be applied to those student-athletes that were investigated by Iowa and Iowa State. 

This Day in Sports History

1953 – The Supreme Court rules Major League baseball exempt from antitrust laws.

1991 – Houston’s Roman Anderson becomes the first player in NCAA history to surpass 400 points by kicking a 32-yard field goal in the Cougars’ 23-14 victory over Texas.

1996 – Evander Holyfield upsets Mike Tyson in an 11th-round knockout in Las Vegas to regain the WBA heavyweight boxing title; becoming the second boxer, after Muhammad Ali, to win a heavyweight title three times.