Iowa Wesleyan University Celebrates Awards Day

Mount Pleasant, IA – April 22, 2022 —Iowa Wesleyan University held its annual Awards Day on April 21 to recognize outstanding students and faculty. The University recognized students for exemplary achievement in their majors, their leadership on campus, and their involvement in the community. The awards ceremony also included the announcement of the most prestigious student award given annually, the President’s Award.

“Awards Day is one of the most important days of the academic year as it is our opportunity as a campus community to celebrate the achievements of our students. The awards range from discipline-specific academic awards to student development and leadership awards,” stated Dr. DeWayne Frazier, University Provost. “It is also our opportunity to honor our adjunct teacher of the year and the academic advisor of the year.”

The President’s Award, presented to a graduating senior, epitomizes a person who consistently demonstrates responsible and selfless use of talent and leadership throughout their undergraduate experience. Nominees must be high academic achievers who have modeled exemplary academic effort and engagement. The 2021-2022 President’s Award was presented to Karli Kirchner ’22 from Montrose, Iowa. Karli has been involved in numerous on-campus organizations and committees, including the Behavioral Science Club while maintaining a 4.0 GPA.

Morgan Laden of Peosta, Iowa, received the Tiger Spirit Award. This award signifies what it means to be an Iowa Wesleyan Tiger by displaying a positive attitude, sportsmanship, spirit, and pride.  

The Student Leader of the Year award recipient is Jake Huggins from Seneca, Illinois. This award is designed to recognize a student who has excelled and exemplified outstanding leadership, service, and dedication to positively impact growth, culture, and change at IW. 

Recognized for their unwavering support of Iowa Wesleyan’s internship program is The 8th Judicial District. The 8th Judicial District was recognized as a dedicated internship placement facility for many Iowa Wesleyan students. Without their dedication to IW, students would not have these exceptional mentoring and professional opportunities.

We are also excited to recognize our instructors during our annual celebration. The Advisor of the Year honor was awarded to Randy Thomas, Associate Professor of Accounting, for his dedication to IW students.

For a complete list of award recipients, go to