Payton Hagans and Aaiden Ashton Headline All-SEC Honors for Mt. Pleasant Boys’ Basketball

Mt. Pleasant, IA- The Southeast Conference has released their All-Conference selections for Boys’ Basketball this year with Mt. Pleasant earning 6 honors. The Panthers finished the year with an 18-6 record and won the conference championship after going 8-2 in conference play.

Payton Hagans was a unanimous selection for the All-Conference 1st Team after the phenomenal season for the junior guard. Hagans averaged 20.7 points per game and led the Panthers in just about every statistical category throughout the season.

Aaiden Ashton also took home All-Conference 1st Team honors for the Panthers. He was second on the team in points as he averaged 14.5 points per game. The senior guard shot 43% from the field and 36.3% from beyond the arc.

Owen Vansickle, a senior guard, was recognized as 2nd Team All-Conference after averaging 7.3 points per game. Vansickle was phenomenal from three-point range as he shot 37.9% on the year and dished out 3.3 assists per game.

Carter Amos and Nate Stroud were both recognized as All-Conference Honorable mentions. Amos, a senior forward for the Panthers, averaged 4.8 points per game and ranked 16th in Class 3A in field goal percentage. Stroud, the starting junior center, was a force in the lane for Mt. Pleasant as he ranked 7th in Class 3A in blocks with 30 on the season and supplied 7.1 points per game.

Tim Cam earned Academic All-Conference for his senior season.

Merquiche Lewis Jr. for Burlington was named Conference Player of the Year along with All-Conference 1st Team and Academic All-Conference as Lewis nearly averaged a double-double with 24.2 points per game and 9.5 rebounds per game.