Sports, March 13th

High School Basketball

The All Sub-State teams were announced over the weekend. In Class 1A Sub-State 4, Blaise Porter of New London, Cam Buffington of Winfield-Mt. Union, Hunter Hughes of WACO, Caiden Gourley of Danville, and Luke Hellige of Holy Trinity Catholic all received this honor.

West Burlington had three honorees for Class 2A Sub-State 6 in Brady Martin, Mason Watkins, and Ryan O’Hern was named Coach of the Year for sub-state 6.

In Class 3A Sub-State 6, Payton Hagans was named to the team after averaging nearly 21 points per game. Max Weaton and JJ Lane each made it for Fairfield with Ethan Patterson claiming a spot for Washington. Eric Rawson was honored with Co-Coach of the Year for sub-state 6 with Jason Carter of Newton.

High School Track and Field

The boys’ will be heading to Central College on Friday to compete in an indoor meet with the girls’ competing on Saturday at Central College.

Youth Basketball

March Madness 5 on 5 Basketball Tournament held at Iowa Wesleyan University for 5th – 8th grade girls and boys will take place on March 18th and 19th. Please contact Head Men’s Basketball Coach Jordan Ashton for more details at 319-385-6307 or visit

March Madness

With the brackets now set you can head over to ESPN and fill out your brackets for KILJ’s Bracket Challenge brought to you by Wiley’s Interior Furnishings and Design and The Press Box. The full list of instructions is listed in an article on Prizes include a free cabin rental from Henry County Conservation and a $100 gift certificate for Wiley’s for 1st place and a meal a month from the Press Box for 2nd place. Iowa comes into the tournament as the 8th seed and Iowa St. as the 6th seed.

Iowa Wesleyan Athletics

Adaugo Nwachukwu won the national championship for the 136-pound weight class in back-to-back years after defeating Mea Mohler by tech fall in the championship bout. She finished the season undefeated and as an All-American. She was the first All-American in school history last year. She is now the first two-time national champion in school history. Mia Palumbo also made school history as she was the first two-time NAIA All-American in school history after falling in the championship match to take 2nd in the 109-pound weight class. Faith Cole took home 6th place in the 109-pound weight class as she was also named an All-American. Isabelle Hawley in the 143-pound weight class and America Lopez in the 170-pound weight class would follow suit, each earning 6th place and an All-American honor. The Tigers finished in 7th as a team with a score of 92.5 points.

The Tiger baseball team again split both games on Saturday as they defeated Fisher College in what looked more like a football score 21-11, despite the game going to extra innings. The Tigers gave up an 11-5 lead in the last 2 innings of the game forcing a 10th inning where the Tigers would explode for 10 runs including a Sage Bonner 3-run home run. Also having an incredible game was David Amaya as he went perfect at the plate smacking in 9 RBIs. Georgia Gwinnett College was on upset alert as the Tigers had a 3-0 leading heading into the 6th inning before the Grizzlies packed on 13 runs over the next three innings to take it 13-3 after 8 innings of play. Froymer Ortega and Holvin Catala each finished with an RBI. The Tigers will have their home opener tomorrow at 1 pm against Graceland University. KILJ will call the first game of the doubleheader with pregame at 12:45 pm.

The Tiger softball team fell to Jefferson College 12-2 on Saturday. Aspyn Harrison and Karoline Stratton each knocked home a run. The Tigers will travel to take on Harris-Stowe State University on Saturday, March 18th, at 1 pm.

This Day in Sports History

1915 – Brooklyn Robins manager Wilbert Robinson tries to catch a baseball dropped from an airplane, but the pilot substitutes a grapefruit.

1954 – Braves’ Bobby Thomson breaks his ankle, he is replaced by Hank Aaron.

2022 – After a 40-day retirement, record breaking quarterback Tom Brady announces he will play at least one more season in the NFL with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.