Sports, March 8th

Boys’ State Basketball

Championship Friday’s matchups are set and here’s how yesterday played out. 

For the Class 2A semifinal, #1 Western Christian clobbered #5 Treynor 76-45. Kaden VanRegenmorter led the scoring with 21 points.

#2 Hudson narrowly defeated #6 Unity Christian after the Knights outscored the Pirates 17 to 9 in the fourth quarter. Camden Davis finished the game with 16 points and nine rebounds. 

#1 Western Christian will take on #2 Hudson today at 3 pm.

In Class 3A, #1 Decorah and #4 Assumption needed overtime to decide the game and it was the Knights who pulled off the upset 61-53. Daymen Jackson and Kayvion Hodges combined for 43 points in the win as Hodges collected a double-double with 13 rebounds. 

#2 Waverly-Shell Rock’s Luke Frazell went off for 31 points in the win over MOC-Floyd Valley 76-66. #4 Assumption will face off against #2 Waverly-Shell Rock at 5 pm tonight.

For Class 4A, #1 Cedar Rapids Kennedy handled #5 Ankeny 63-51. Cyrus Courtney cashed in for 17 points and a team high three steals in the win.

Lastly, #6 Bettendorf could not pull off another upset as #2 Valley stomped the Bulldogs 66-46. Kiki Deng led the scoring with a game high 18 points. #1 Cedar Rapids Kennedy will compete against #2 Valley tonight at 7 pm.

To start off championship Friday, Class 1A’s matchup will be between #1 North Linn and #2 Marquette Catholic. 

All-Substate and All-Region Teams

For Class 1A Substate 5: Hunter Hughes of WACO, Luke Hellige of Holy Trinity Catholic, Liam Delaney of Burlington Notre Dame, Jackson Lanz of Wapello, and Cam Buffington and Abram Edwards of Winfield-Mt. Union earned the honor. Wolves head coach Klay Edwards nabbed Coach of the Year.

For Class 2A Substate 4, West Burlington populated the list with Mason Watkins and Brady Martin, while head coach Cody VanFleet garnered Coach of the Year honors after bringing the Falcons to their first state tournament appearance. 

Lastly for Class 3A Substate 5, Payton Hagans of Mt. Pleasant grabbed a spot after averaging 22.8 points per game. Jaxon Clark of Keokuk also earned a spot after averaging a double-double. 

On the girls’ side, Jaeda Molle of Danville and Tatum Wolford of Wapello earned a spot on the Region 7 team.

For Region 8, Holy Trinity Catholic’s seniors Mary Kate Bendlage and Natalie Randolph garnered a spot. 

Mediapolis’ Grace Holsteen made the Class 3A Region 1 team as a sophomore.

In Class 4A Region 1, Kendra Boatman and Makenna Altgilbers made the All-Region team for Keokuk.

High School Track and Field

The Mt. Pleasant girls’ team will compete at Iowa State today.

The WACO boys’ and girls’ teams will travel to Central College on March 14th to start their season.

The Winfield-Mt. Union and New London boys’ teams will travel to Danville on March 18th to get the season rolling. 

High School Bowling

The Southeast Conference has released the girls’ and boys’ All-Conference teams as Keokuk swept the conference championships.

Keokuk, the Class 2A state champion, had four bowlers make the All-Conference First Team in Allison Sapp, Sophia Rule, Jaelylnn Ketterer, and Addi Spicer. Sapp led the way with a two game total of 436 as Ketterer clinched a spot in the state tournament and exited as the individual state champion.

Mt. Pleasant’s Addison McGehearty had the fifth highest conference score with 350 total points as she was the lone Panther to be named First Team All-Conference. Additionally, McGhearty was a state qualifier.

The Panthers had four bowlers earn Second Team All-Conference honors in Kya Goodrich (state qualifier), Madelynn Millard, Shyann Smith, and Bethany Drury (state qualifier).

Katleyn Ott of Burlington was the final bowler to make the All-Conference First Team. 

Conference standings: Keokuk (2,870), Mt. Pleasant (2,415), Burlington (2,001), Fairfield (1,524), and Washington (1,007).

On the boys’ side, Keokuk finished as the conference champion as they were led by First Team All-Conference Honoree Pray Lawson as he had the fifth highest score of the match with 409 pins.

Mt. Pleasant had two student-athletes make the All-Conference First Team as Alec Payne was the top bowler in the conference with a two-game total of 463 pins. Keagan Ellington grabbed the final spot on the team with 408 pins.

Titus Reno earned Second Team All-Conference honors after bowling a 381 two-game total.

Keaton Lair of Burlington finished with the second highest score in the conference meet with a two-game total of 448 pins. Ian Mason grabbed Second Team All-Conference with a score of 398.

Caleb Zieglowsky of Washington nabbed the final spot on the All-Conference First Team with the third highest score in the conference as he finished with a two-game total of 447 pins.

Final Conference Standings: Keokuk (2,869), Burlington (2,804), Mt. Pleasant (2,741), Fairfield (2,520), and Washington (2,219).

College Basketball

The #3 Iowa women’s team grabbed the 2-seed in the Big Ten Tournament and will take on Penn State in the quarterfinal round at 5:30 pm tonight.

The Iowa State women’s team earned the 4-seed in the Big 12 Tournament and was awarded with a double bye into the quarterfinals. The Cyclones will play tomorrow, March 9th, at 11 am.

The #6 Iowa State men’s team will travel to take on Kansas State tomorrow at 1 pm.

The Iowa men’s team will celebrate senior night on March 10th against Illinois at 6 pm.

This Day in Sports History

1930 – Baseball slugger Babe Ruth signs 2-year contract for a then huge $160,000 with NY Yankees; GM Ed Barrow, wrongly predicts “No one will ever be paid more than Ruth.”

1936 – The first stock car race was held in Daytona Beach, Florida.

1971 – Joe Frazier ends Muhammad Ali’s 31-fight winning streak at Madison Square Garden, NYC; retains heavyweight boxing title by unanimous points decision over 15 rounds in the “Fight of the Century.”