Awards Day Honors Announced at Iowa Wesleyan University  

Mount Pleasant, IA – April 22, 2021 — Iowa Wesleyan University held its annual Awards Day to recognize outstanding students and faculty. The University recognized students for exemplary achievement in their majors, their leadership on campus, and their involvement in the community. The awards ceremony also included the announcement of the most prestigious student award given annually, the President’s Award.

“Awards day is one of the most important days of the academic year as it is our opportunity as a campus community to celebrate the achievements of our students. The awards range from discipline-specific academic awards to student development awards,” stated Dr. DeWayne Fraizer, University Provost. “It is also our opportunity to honor our adjunct teacher of the year and the academic advisor of the year.”

The President’s Award, presented to a graduating senior, epitomizes a person who consistently demonstrates responsible and selfless use of talent and leadership throughout his or her undergraduate experience. Nominees must be high academic achievers who have modeled exemplary academic effort and engagement. The 2020-2021 President’s Award was presented to Veronica Morgan ’21 from Durand, IL. Veronica’s nominator said this about her, “Veronica is an excellent example of what it means to be a TIGER. You will never see her without a smile. Veronica is the type of person everyone hopes to have in their life.”

Lois Skubal of Ainsworth, IA, is the recipient of the Tiger Spirit Award. This award signifies what it means to be an Iowa Wesleyan Tiger by displaying a positive attitude, sportsmanship, spirit, and pride. Her nominator said, “Lois has a servant’s heart. She is always willing to step in and help out if asked.”

Student Leader of the Year award recipient is Jeremiah Carter from Washington, IA. This award is designed to recognize a student who has excelled and exemplified outstanding leadership, service, and dedication to positively impact growth, culture, and change at IW. “Jeremiah is intentionally involved on campus, meaning that when he is a part of something, he takes ownership of it! Others look up to him as he leads by example,” said his nominator.

Recognized for their unwavering support of Iowa Wesleyan’s internship program is The Rec Center. The Rec Center was recognized for its unwavering support of our internship program. The Rec Center is a dedicated internship placement facility for many Iowa Wesleyan students in many disciplines. Our students have said, “The Rec Center is a great place to gain experience as an intern, and their staff and members are truly welcoming to everyone. They take every one of their interns under their wing and set them up to be successful.” Without their dedication to IW, students would not have the exceptional mentoring and professional opportunities afforded them.

In celebration of our IW Online students, the University honored Andrew Ezekiel Hall as the Outstanding Online Undergraduate Student of the Year and Bridget Dunham, the Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year.

We also recognize instructors during our annual celebration. Earning the Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award was Donna DeBose. Our IW Online Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award was Dr. Celina Peerman. The Advisor of the Year honor was awarded to Erin Durflingerr.