Day 1 of the Iowa Boys’ Wrestling State Tournament: Class 1A

Prep Wrestling- Day one of the Iowa High School Athletic Association boys’ wrestling state tournament is in the books and here is a round-up of all the action that took place for our local wrestlers in the first two rounds of the championship bracket for Class 1A going by weight classes.

In the 106-pound weight class, Codder Malcom of Wapello defeated Eli Rieb in the first round by an 8-2 decision. The #3 seed Brock Shaha of Mount Ayr would take down Malcom by fall in the second round sending him to the consolation bracket where he will start day two wrestling Caleb Hoffman of Kuemper Catholic.

Gage Samo of WACO entered the 7th seed in the 113-pound weight class, which earned himself a first-round bye. In round two, he would defeat Cole Frost of Don Bosco by a 6-2 decision setting himself up for a matchup with Cael Morrow of Akron-Westfield, the #2 seed, to start day two.

In the 126-pound weight class, Gage Burden would lose his first round matchup against TJ Nutt by fall. He will start day two against Payton Harger of Earlham in the consolation bracket.

Zach Harbison of Wapello pulled off the upset in his first round match against Korbyn Maxwell as he defeated Maxwell by major decision in the 138-pound weight class. In the second round, Myles McMahon of Don Bosco would send Harbison to the consolation bracket after pinning him in the match. Harbison will take on Dawson Beyer of Sibley-Ocheyedan to start day two.

In the 152-pound weight class, Kyler Crow of Mediapolis won via a 15-10 decision over Jackson Kounkel in the first round. Kyler Knaack would make quick work of the Bulldog as he beat Crow by fall. Verdy Klocke will be Crow’s next opponent in the consolation bracket.

The 160-pound weight class has two wrestlers to keep an eye on in the 4th seed Louden Huisenga and the 2nd seed Dom Lopez as each earned byes in the first round. Huisenga would move on due to disqualification over Ben Hansen, so he will wrestle the 5th seed Max McGill to start his day. Lopez, who is looking to end the year undefeated, defeated Rory Prazak II by tech fall in the second round, which tied the record for most wins in a high school career in the state of Iowa, with 219. He will battle Andrew Kimball of Don Bosco on his last journey for a high school state championship.

Michael Raines of New London went 1-1 on the day in the 170-pound weight class as he defeated Kaden Stites by fall in round one, but lost to Titus Evans in the second round. He will take on Logan Wearmouth of Martensdale-St. Marys in the consolation bracket.

The 195-pound weight class has three local wrestlers to keep an eye on. Trent Wilkerson of New London went 1-1 on the day as he defeated Zach Teague of West Central Valley by fall but lost to Nathan Beitz of Maquoketa Valley by a 7-0 decision. Wilkerson will face off against Tate Mayer of Saint Ansgar in the first round of the consolation bracket. Drew Diers of WACO lost by fall in his first match of the day to Jack Schwenn of Belle Plaine. Diers will take on Aiden Sullivan in the consolation bracket. Lastly, the #2 seed Josh Glendening of Mediapolis got a bye for the first round, then took down Taite Peach by fall to move on in the championship bracket to wrestle Schwenn.

Spencer Kessel of Louisa-Muscatine got a first round bye as the 4th seed then defeated Indy Ferguson of Lisbon by a 7-0 decision to wrestle Henry Lund to start day two.

Stay tuned to KILJ 105.5 FM and for more updates throughout the day over the course of the tournament.