Henry and Lee to Receive Funding for Bridges

On June 22, 2023, the U.S. Department of Transportation announced that Clay, Lucas, Crawford, Lee, Pottawattamie, Wright, Page, Henry, and Mitchell Counties will receive $24,760,000 to replace nine bridges in poor condition. This award is in addition to the bridge repair or replacement projects that are funded through the new bridge investment program through IIJA state formula funds.

The bipartisan infrastructure bill reauthorized the Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) discretionary grants to support surface transportation projects of local and/or regional significance.

“Unfortunately, Iowa leads the nation in the overall number of structurally deficient bridges, and that’s one of the many reasons I supported the bipartisan infrastructure law. I’m glad to see that nine rural bridges will be replaced and improve travel and safety for the Iowans who use them. I’ll continue doing my part to ensure more of Iowans’ hard-earned tax dollars come back to our state and to improve our all of our communities.” Chuck Grassley